I am doing a project for my web 2.0 class in school, and I am trying to figure out what is better to be able to use in the class room, twitter or facebook?

Tags: facebook, twitter

Views: 325

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hello Skye. Depends where you are. Unfortunately you wouldn't be able to use either of those in Victoria, Australia as they would both be blocked. Riduculous but true.
I am new to the web 2.0 movement ;-)So I have not explored it on that level yet. But give me some time. However you may want to join the "Educators using Facebook" group in Classroom 2.0. When in that group, connect with the members.

Click on the "More" link and then select "Group". Search for the group.

I hope this works

Antwon

Confessions of a Technology Leader Podcast
TLConfessions.com
I think facebook adds a little more functionality than twitter. Plus facebook has the twitter "thing" built into it with the status updates.
Hi Skye,I am all for fb. I am in Malaysia. Here English is taught as a second language. Thus most of the pupil here does not excel in English. Especially verbally. I am wondering if there are anyone who might have a suggestion as how our pupil here could have a project that these student could collaborate.
Check out the work of Shelly Blake Plock @TeachPaperless. His blog is: http://teachpaperless.blogspot.com/

You can learn more here.
I think it depends on what it is you're trying to do -- I would say that Facebook is better for a more sustained social networking environment, while Twitter is good for short, limited discussions or activities.

However, if you're working with younger students, I would recommend a social networking site like Edmodo, rather than Facebook, because it was created specifically for education. (There's more info on my blog, here.)

As for Twitter, there are some ideas on using it on this blog post (scroll down to the "Twitter projects" section).

Good luck!