I have been using a blog and a wiki in my classrooms for a little over 2 months. I have them do scribe posts on our wiki. I have been having them find links that enhance the lessons we do in class. Our district recently had Will Richardson come and speak to us about social networking and using web tools in the classroom. Hearing him talk about his students using their blog to connect with the author of the book they were studying was amazing. I want that type of experience for my kids but how? I can't quite get my students excited about producing their own content on the web. I talk about global audiences and them taking ownership of their learning but it seems to them like just another task, like doing homework. How can we make mathematics come alive for these students? I love exploring the new tools like skype and jing. I can't wait for the day when that great idea comes to me and I have students collaborting with other students across the country or the world on something. If there are any ideas about projects or activities I could have my senior algebra/trig students or my integrated math 1 students try I would love to hear from you.

Tags: collaboration, math, maths, projects, richardson, will

Views: 319

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Darin,
It's great you are enthused and want to try things. It's not your fault that students are treating this as just another assignment, we've trained them for years that that's all that counts.

I think that it might be a slow process to gain their trust. It might take some time to find something that they are really excited about. If it's not a global audience, then maybe it's something else. Ask them.
Thanks for your words of encouragement. It is hard to be the only one excited about something new.
Hi Darin,