I am an ESL teacher and I have to deal with Guided Reading for grades 1st, 4th and 5th. I am having problems with my first grade because sometimes I think I am not using the right strategies. I'd like to have a guide where I could follow the right steps to teach guided reading. I have read Guided Reading by Gay S. but it is confusing to me. I have a question related to running records in Guided Reading. What can you do with those words students sub, omit , or teacher told. I have been making students repeat and write sentences with them. This is for 4th and 5th grades. Is it right or wrong?

Views: 49

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Manuel,

I am a retired special ed teacher who makes a webpage with instructional resources for students. I'm not sure exactly what the current meaning of "guided reading", but if you are stumped with what to do with the words the students make errors on, you may want to look at: http://www.educationalsynthesis.org/books/Alphabet/ .... This is an index page that lists stories that provide six words for each letter of the alphabet, which can be personalized to each student. After you look at a few of the stories, you should have an idea what a Pictionary is or can be. At the bottom of the table is a link to the Pictionary. You can choose enter the child's name and which beginning letter it falls under, print the page, and have the students enter the missed word on the appropriate page of the pictionary. The MUSt draw a picture for the word (even if it is a word like "saw", have the children draw a picture that will remind them what the word MEANS. If you create a full pictionary for each student, it will be easier to insert any missed words on the proper pages.

In my experience, having the student write the word, draw the picture and THEN write the sentence or two was beneficial in their learning the word.