We are looking at piloting Gaggle with a middle school team (approximately 120 students). I am looking for information to send home to parents. Does anyone have any suggestions or possibly a sample to view?
Any suggestions for those parents who are fearful?
Thanks!!

Views: 228

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Gaggle has been very good about providing letters, even in MS Word format. Letters for parents, appropriate use policies for students and parents to sign, etc.

Send me an email at phil.larsen@ksd.org and I will forward you two letters I recently received from Gaggle. I was reading one today that is for parents and it is well written.

Thanks,

Phil
Trisha,

I thought I would answer your question a little more thoroughly about whether you should use gaggle.net in the classroom.

I have been using it for two years now I am mostly pleased.

The biggest downturn are the ads. If your school/district does not care which browser you use I highly recommend you use the firefox browser with an extension called adblock plus. If you are interested in seeing why and how let me know. Not only do the web pages download faster (because they are not downloading the heavy bandwidth ad) but also you get beautiful white space on the web page where there otherwise would be a very annoying ad).

Additionally, some of the ads in the past have been a little racy--Pamela Anderson type stuff. I emailed gaggle about this and they said they actually have very little control of the ads. I actually believe them because they usually don't handle advertising, but just try to make money through a 3rd party company.

Other bad news:

Only 2MB of space. This can fill up quickly. I tell students to delete old messages on a regular basis. There is a warning when a student is about to run out of space.

The limited space makes the digital locker meaningless. Even a large powerpoint can be denied, much less a picture or sound file.

Now for the good news: