I am curious if anyone is familiar with CollegeBrain, a free CMS. If so, what are your impressions?

https://collegebrain.net/index.php

Thanks!
Lee Anne

Views: 18

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Lee Anne,

I starting using CollegeBrain this term to help teach my class. Originally this was supposed to be a "pilot" test, since my curriculum had already been established this term, and I only discovered their website in mid-april: (http://www.eschoolnews.com/news/site-of-the-week/site/?i=53553;_hbg...)

However the service messages were so friendly, I felt important. I frankly don't know how I would begin to set up Moodle or Blackboard for myself. I don't intend to spend money on such things, and from my understanding you need to run Moodle from your own server!? I am a teacher who dabbles in technology, not a guru looking to host a service. CollegeBrain has an intuitive interface, and they respond quickly to my questions. That's all I need. Most importantly, articles like this (http://www.stateline.org/live/ViewPage.action?siteNodeId=136&la...) boil my blood. Sometimes I feel that our only hope is for more companies to start publishing free and open source tools to help educators solve problems.