Ok. Here's the deal. I am interning in a grade four classroom right at the moment as a "digital intern", which means I have to incorperate a blog into my classroom. I know how to blog, and use blogger for my personal one. For my students however, it is between classblogmiester and 21 classes. The thing that is keeping me from joining 21 classes is I can not see my students names on the side like classblogmeister. Also, I do not like the fact it is so difficult to add pictures to classblogmiester!
Lastly, what about blogger??? that is easy to use, and I am familar with it! Does anyone suggest that? agghh....

Views: 121

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Nicole-
I have been pushing 21 classes to my teachers- I am an administrator in a 6-8 middle school- the thing I like about 21 classes over other blog sites is that you don't need e-mail addresses to set up the environment. It is hard to gather student e-mail address and then there is the whole privacy thing. 21 classes is simple to use and has the potential to be a very powerful tool, if you unleash all of the functionality. Glad to here that you are starting kids off as bloggers so early. Good luck!
I use 21 classes with 3 different classes. You can add a blog roll by going from the portal dashboard to Student Accounts / More options / Directory of Blogs and check the box: "show blog list on portal". I also check "show blog list on weblogs" so students can easily jump from one person's blog to another.

If a student add a photo to their about me profile, the photo will show up on the portal when a student makes a new post.

Hope that helps! I haven't used classblogmeister - but I am very happy with 21 classes. My high school students have really enjoyed being able to change the fonts. colors, backgrounds, etc..

See my previous post at: http://classroom20.ning.com/forum/topic/show?id=649749%3ATopic%3A42090