(Classroom 2.0, forgive me--I am still a rookie. Is an article like this most appropriately posted as a forum or a blog? What if it's about our network itself?)

Innovation...what is to be the source?

It's morel season in Michigan. Trees are in flower, some are leafing out. Glorious springtime! Walking through the woods this morning, I saw trillium and mayapples, a wild turkey, and lots of frogs. Two buteo hawks circled the marsh. Sandhill cranes called their eerie dinosaur-voiced song, which always cries to me of eternity. They sing their ancestors's song.

Since my neurology is changing, from being part of this network, and from doing so much techno-work in class, all the time I was out in the woods I was thinking in links. I'm trying to figure out a puzzle. Would the answer appear?

My question is, where will innovation come from in the next quarter-century? Ok, that's too long to think about. How about the next decade? Where will innovation sprout up?

There's a study of (as I recall) Japanese Macaques in which scientists presented a group (society?) of them a problem, one that they had never encountered in their lives before. Scientists found that the macaques liked rice, then gave them rice mixed with sand. (A dirty trick!) Wanting the food, but unable to eat the mix, some gave up, some ruined their teeth, some carried it around while tossing it up and down, only to lose everything.

An adolescent female was tossing the mix, maybe playing, who knows, and carried a batch into the sea. Tossing, tossing, dropping, wading, tossing--aha! Guess what? Yes, the rice floated. She gathered up the rice, ate it, and in a flash was back to get more of the rice-sand mix. She waded directly into the sea, threw in the mix, and stood there eating her reward.