What is your philosophy on homework?  I have been doing some research where some schools are instituting a no homework policy.  How do you feel about this?  As a math teacher, I feel homework is necessary for students to master the skill being taught.  Homework is also a good way to instill a good work ethic in students.  Homework, however, needs to be seen as meaningful to the students and not just busy work.

Views: 1912

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

I can see an argument for homework in math but I am hard pressed to see the value elsewhere. I know for me homework was always a burden that I rushed through without any thought, analysis or reflection. I did it merely for the sake of doing it. I'd say most homework assigned today still fits that pattern.

Since we know some kids won't do it, and some kids can't do it, we assign work that is weak at best and offers very little return for the investment. Frankly, I'd rather just have an extra 10 minutes in each period of that day than expect the kids to do an hour + of undirected work at home.
Thanks for your thoughts. I see your side of things, but how do we change our assignments so there is a return in investment? How do we get kids to invest in the assignment? I think one way is to make it meaningful in "their world." GIve them assignments that relate to their lives. For instance, a colleague of mine was thinking of having students create facebook profiles of historical figures. I thought this was a great idea, but would need to be monitored and on some other forum besides facebook (which is blocked at our school, thank goodness). It is these type of assignments that would make students excited about learning and maybe they would WANT to complete their homework. What a great thing that would be!