Technology in special education is a key component to learning. As inclusion teachers, my co-teacher and I strive to create a classroom rich in assistive/instructional technology to not only engage our students, but to provide them with equal access to the tools they need to be successful and productive adults. This forum is meant to assist classified students in all learning environments, from the least restrictive to the most restrictive placements. Who are you and what are you doing to engage, teach and motivate student learning through technology?

Tags: specialeducation, technology

Views: 808

Replies to This Discussion

Christine:

I am a new teacher with only a year under my belt as a regular classroom teacher. I worked as a paraeducator for 3 years prior while getting my teaching degree in elementary ed. In 1 week I will begin a new position in a charter school with students from 6-8 grade. This is a project-based environment that allows students at all learning levels to work at thier own pace. I know I will have at least 1 student that has been "classified" but really all of my students will all have an individual learning plan so could all be said to be "classified" whether high, low, or inbetween. Anyway, I want to open as many avenues as possible for all of my students and to do so I need to open as many avenues in my knowledge and collaboration as possible. Your post here intrigues me and I would love to hear ideas on how to use technology to help these students. I am in a technology rich environment, I just need to be sure to lead and facilitate these students in a way that enhances thier individual needs.